Proud to be a Winger

14 Jun

I’m officially a (self-declared) cosy mystery writer so naturally my plan was to plot this whole son of a b*tch since mysteries involve carefully planted clues. I scribbled and scribbled and brainstormed until my brain hurt and eventually just started writing. That’s when things started flowing and I realised that maybe I shouldn’t try so hard to be something that I’m not. I always dive into my stories and see what happens. When I finished my first story, things came together in a way that my conscious hadn’t even realised yet. I always believed that the subconscious knew more and made connections even before I saw them, but the doubtful voice in my head said that such a thing was too easy and that I should plot like a ‘real’ writer. But lots of (famous) writers don’t plot. The writing process is a personal one. You have to decide what works for you.
That is why I’m declaring myself a loud and proud winger. Winger sounds weird. Non-plotter? Notter? No. Anyway, the only plotting I’ll be doing is during the formation of my world domination plans.

funny-dog-pictures-busy-plottin

 

Right now the writing is going well and I’ve added a word count at the right top side of my shiny blog in case you are interested to follow the process of my latest cosy mystery. Before I tried to write one page a day, but in the last five days I’ve written six chapters! So now a chapter a day is my goal.

I’m just going to see where it goes. The subplot might need some fleshing out, but that is what second drafts are for! We go onwards! To the lair!

2 Responses to “Proud to be a Winger”

  1. Andrew June 14, 2013 at 4:03 pm #

    The word people use now is “pantser”, which sounds like someone who goes around and pantses people haha. You gotta do what you gotta do! If flying by the seat of your pants works, then do it! It works for Stephen King, and I think he knows a thing or two about writing books 😉

    • pfeatherstonehaugh June 14, 2013 at 4:46 pm #

      Exactly! That’s the same image I got when I heard ‘pantser’. Also with winger I think of someone who likes chicken wings, haha. Anyway, thanks for your support! I’m gonna wing it like a person who eats chicken wings!

Leave a Reply

