My Scribblings

15 Jun

I’m always dying to know what other writers are currently writing. It’s just special to know what kind of story is currently being born, what story will one day adorn the bookshelves in local book stores. And since people have already expressed curiosity as to what I write, I’ve made a special shiny new page for you to explore. It’s at the top of the blog, right next to the About Me page. Feel free to let my pet dragons guide you or have cookies along the way.

Let me first tell you that I have a huge imagination that is usually filled with Skittles, pet dragons, unicorns, castles in the sky, candy floss and triple rainbows. I’ve written short stories about a Japanese hit woman and an android who is about to go to the scrapheap when she and her captor get into a hover car crash. The first full-blown story I wrote was a chick lit story for NaNoWriMo which I wrote in Dutch. Once I discovered I had the writing speed of a ninja, I became eager to finish my projects which were mostly fantasy. When I was studying Creative Writing at the uni of Kent a new pet project jumped into my mind and started rearranging the furniture. For a while I wanted to write some sort of modern Nancy Drew type story and when I was trying to sleep (it always happens then) the first page of my story trickled into my brain. I had to get up and write it down and that became the beginning of The Chess Club. A story that blends humour, mystery, quirkiness, Skittles and sarcasm.

chess-green-field-made-1920x1080

If you’re working on a story, tell me about it. I like hearing about your projects or how your word count is progressing…or not. And if you have any questions for me, I’m right here in my writing lair. Just don’t pull the bell, my pet dragons are napping.

7 Responses to “My Scribblings”

  1. munchkinwrites June 15, 2013 at 2:04 pm #

    A writing speed of a ninja? Boy, I’m envious! I’d love to tell you what I’m working on but I’m light years away from developing an explanation that can qualify as short, haha. The best I can manage is that it’s a fantasy series with 5 books, and the word count is *drumrollllll* ZERO! I had four chapters before but it was derailing so I scrapped it all and started again. Then exams decided to happen, leaving me with my impressively nonexistent word count 🙂

    I’m impressed that you successfully finished NaNo. Great stuff! Thanks for sharing.

    • pfeatherstonehaugh June 15, 2013 at 2:11 pm #

      Ooh, yes, that’s the downside of having a life! Hope your exams went okay, but don’t worry, there’s no rush. Summer holiday is at our doorstep AKA writing time! And getting-a-tan time. I love fantasy stories, though, so get writing eventually or we won’t be able to enjoy your stories!
      When I did NaNo I still had to go to Uni almost every day, so I had this routine..as soon as I came back from school I’d change into my pyjamas and hop into bed with my laptop. I wrote until dinner and after dinner and that’s how I managed the daily word goal. I wrote that entire novel in my bed, haha.
      Maybe a fixed routine will help you too. Writeordie.com is also a really handy tool that forces you to write. You can use it for free on their website.
      YOU CAN DO IT! *waves pom-poms* Keep me posted!

  2. munchkinwrites June 15, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

    Your routine sounds awesome. I used to do that when I was in high school, back when I was still half a ninja. But you’re right – holidays are coming up (winter ones for me) and writing time is going to bang on the door! I WILL develop a routine! I’ve checked out writeordie recently and with this I think I’ll actually use it soon.

    Thanks for the motivation! I’ve got faith in you, pal! Keep sharpening those ninja skills 🙂

    • pfeatherstonehaugh June 15, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

      Winter holiday? Where do you live?

      That’s great! I’m already proud of you! And thank you, I will. *does ninja moves* *falls down* Ahem, meant to do that. Totally.

      • munchkinwrites June 16, 2013 at 12:11 am #

        I live in Australia, where our seasons are polar opposites with yours. We’ve also got PMS-y weather 😉

        Thanks! Let’s both aim for ninja glory together! Write on!

  3. bejamin4 July 21, 2013 at 1:48 pm #

    I, too, once had the writing speed of ninja, but I think I lost my speed. Hope you keep yours forever.

    • pfeatherstonehaugh July 21, 2013 at 1:59 pm #

      Me too, but it kind of depends on the story and on what mood the Muse is in. Who knows, with the right story, you might get it back again! *hands you ninja-shaped cookies*

Leave a Reply

