One Chapter a Day Keeps Writer’s Block Away.

22 Jun

If you’ve been following the WIP progress meter in the top right corner then your sharp eyes may have noticed that it’s been going up pretty fast. That might have something to do with my routine of writing one chapter a day. They’re four pages long (single-spaced) and there is no plotting involved. At least, not much. I do try to come up with one line at the beginning of the chapter and the end before I start, but usually I give up and just sit down and write while my pet dragons chew on my socks.

On a non-stop writing spree I timed my writing and realised that I wrote two pages in thirty minutes, so my whole chapter was finished in an hour. That means that my daily writing goal can technically be achieved in one hour, and yours too. (I can type blind and relatively fast, so you should take that into account). Most people can squeeze in an hour for writing, right? Or maybe half an hour, that’s still two whole freaking pages!

Find out the goal that works for you, but if you aim high, even when you fail, you’ll probably still have written more than a little.

As a wise person once said: One chapter a day keeps writer’s block away.

 

writingg

 

3 Responses to “One Chapter a Day Keeps Writer’s Block Away.”

  1. munchkinwrites June 22, 2013 at 2:05 pm #

    My goodness. If I hang around you enough, will that crazy speed rub off on me? :O Jealous but happy about your progress! Good luck with the rest!

  2. pfeatherstonehaugh June 22, 2013 at 4:32 pm #

    Yes, it WILL rub off on you. If you need motivating, let me be your cheerleader 😛 YOU CAN DO IT! Thanks for the comment, munchkin. 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Prompts to chase away writer’s block | Crissi Langwell - July 1, 2013

    […] One Chapter a Day Keeps Writer’s Block Away. […]

Leave a Reply

