Unfinished Business

30 Jun

 

Nobody likes unfinished business. Not in stories, but also not with stories. By that I mean, projects that you’ve started on, but haven’t finished. It happens, you get distracted by a shiny new project, or maybe you just get stuck and give up, it doesn’t matter and there’s nothing bad about it, except that there is always this room in your imagination where the characters linger, waiting, stuck. Your characters deserve to have their (un)happy ending, you think, and every time you finish a project you promise you’ll get started on it, but then you kind of forget. Once again your characters gather dust as they look out of their window, envious of all the other characters who’ve had their ending and don’t have to stay in their room anymore.

I have written down all those unfinished projects, there weren’t that many, and am determined to finish them during the summer. Or this year. Since it will be a busy year, it’s quite possible that in reality, it will be next year, but hey, it’s the thought that counts. Tomorrow I’ll start one of those projects, even though there is another one that is so close to being finished, but I just can’t get myself in the same room with the characters no matter how hard I try. I’m not sure why, maybe it’s been too long since I put that story on hold, but either way, this other story has taken over my brain, so before I get out of touch with that one as well, I’m attacking the hell out of it in the next four weeks.

Do you have any such projects? How are you dealing with it?

I believe you can get out of touch with your story, but I also believe that by rereading it and then continuing, you can get back in touch with it. Stories never truly leave you, not even once they’re finished, so I believe you can finish any project that you want finished. It’s just a matter of putting war paint on your face and occasionally yelling in an aggressive manner. But hey, that makes it sound easy…ask me again in a year.

Or two.

 3688_Women355704

2 Responses to “Unfinished Business”

  1. Andrew Toynbee June 30, 2013 at 6:44 pm #

    My unfinished projects are like the steps that I have used to climb to the dizzy heights of finally (self) publishing my debut novel. 😀
    I will be revisiting them as I climb back down from completing the planned trilogy. They are still in my head, slowly marinating, awaiting my return. I imagine that I will look at them anew and scramble to rewrite them using everything I have learned in the four years since I last read one – and the eight since I read the other. They will be reborn…but better.
    I hope. 🙂

    • pfeatherstonehaugh June 30, 2013 at 7:55 pm #

      Excellent! They will be better, because the more you write, the better your writing becomes. You can do this! And it will be fun. Muahuaha. *shares cookies with you*

Leave a Reply

