A New WIP

1 Jul

Ah, the sight of a fresh, empty page staring back at you. Your trembling fingers hovering in anticipation over the keyboard, ready to type the first sentence.

It’s a wonderful feeling, to stand at the bottom of that beautiful mountain that is your story. It’s the same magical feeling you have before you open up a new book, smelling the pages and knowing you’re holding an entire adventure in your hands.

Today is that day that I’m embarking on a new adventure. I’ll be taking the plunge inside the head of a girl with multiple personalities. Only, she doesn’t even realise it. Yet. I know, this isn’t my standard (cosy) mystery, although there is always something that needs to be discovered in my stories. This is a project that I started when I was working on my dissertation. This story took a hold of me and in one afternoon I wrote the first 10k. Never had that happened before. Perhaps it was because I was in the zone, or perhaps it was because I knew I only had to write about 12k for my dissertation. Maybe that is the way to write the story. Pretend you’re going to stop after 10k and do that each day until you’ve finished your first draft in a week. I’m going to try that, but first I have to reread the first few chapters to see where I left off. Whether it takes a week or four, I know I’ll enjoy being in this girl’s head for that time. On the WIP meter my goal will be 50k because I already have the first 10k and together it will make about 60k which is my standard goal for novels. In any case, this way you can see my progress from zero to 50k and hopefully will cheer me on. Feel free to bring your pom-poms and some white chocolate. I shall keep you posted on my trials and tribulations and of course, feel free to do the same with your WIP. Writer-talk is the best talk there is.

So, give your pet dragons socks to play with and…*puts on writer shoes and stretches fingers*

To the lair!!

 

Old Book

6 Responses to “A New WIP”

  1. Karen Soutar July 1, 2013 at 3:08 pm #

    Good luck with it! My pet dragons are currently magically disguised as cats, but Im not fooled… 😉

    • pfeatherstonehaugh July 1, 2013 at 3:18 pm #

      Thank you! 🙂
      Those tricky dragons! They like their disguises, mine sometimes disguise themselves as the mail man or a duck.
      We’re too clever for them, though! 🙂

  2. Connor Rickett July 2, 2013 at 8:31 pm #

    That’s just about the best time, isn’t it? Right there at the beginning before you really, really, feel how much work it’s gonna be. Before you get halfway up, and you can’t even see the top anymore. Sounds like you know the drill, though, happy writing!

    • pfeatherstonehaugh July 2, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

      Yes, it’s my favourite part! 😀
      Haha, yes, I’m a writerholic, but wouldn’t want it any other way. Thank you and happy writing to you too! 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The First Time Felt Good… – #8Sunday « Deb E. - July 6, 2013

    […] A New WIP (writershenanigans.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Summer Writing Challenge Check-in: Week 6 | Breaking the rules, starting a new project | Write on the World - August 2, 2013

    […] A New WIP (writershenanigans.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

