Prepare to Write

26 Oct

Sometimes people ask me how I prepare for my writing. To me, this is kind of an unusual question because I don’t really stop and think about this, in fact, I don’t really think I prepare at all. At least, not consciously, not in the way a professor prepares a lecture or a dancer stretches before a performance.

So this question turned the cogs in my head. How DO I prepare for a writing session? The answer is pretty lame, I guess…by thinking about writing/the story. Writing is thinking with your fingers, among other things. But this means that a story starts with a thought or a daydream. Although daydreams are pretty much thoughts, only dressed better. I think about the general direction in which I want to go, and if I can’t, then I think about the beginning or any other scene that has jumped into my brain. See, that’s kind of it, the story gets hold of you and doesn’t let go, you’re merely the channel. The means by which it will get onto the page. I just start writing. Any other preparing I do is by putting on music and getting myself something to drink and snack. Rewards are good, and of course hydrating. Hydrating is good too.

Anyway, this leads me to the same question, dear writers. How do YOU prepare for writing?

 

 f369380beb730e831155772388f9089991865464_m

5 Responses to “Prepare to Write”

  1. addictaction October 26, 2013 at 10:59 pm #

    Before I get down to the meat of my writing lately I start with a couple of haikus a cup a water and a small bag of candy. Then I’m able to get in the zone with the serious piece I’m working on.

  2. johncoyote October 26, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

    I do the same things you do. I do take notes. On day off from work. I read 300-400 poems a day. If a lines hit me strongly. I write them down. These notes become poetry. We can learn from each other and good story and poetry make me desire to write.

  3. Jon Jefferson October 27, 2013 at 2:30 am #

    I am pretty much the same. Although, I do a morning free write to help me focus on what I need to do that day. Basically a laundry list of what things writing or otherwise I need to do.

  4. Jennifer Melzer October 27, 2013 at 7:43 pm #

    My best writing ritual starts with turning off the wifi. if I don’t turn off the wifi, I don’t write at full capacity because every time someone likes something on Facebook or messages me on gchat, I feel like I have to know what’s going on even though I tell myself no. Then I can’t concentrate until I go see what’s so exciting that everyone on Facebook is responding. The internet is my writer’s kryptonite. That’s about as ritualistic as I get.

  5. Alice October 27, 2013 at 7:52 pm #

    I do the same as you. I get ready for writing by taking a few minutes to think about what I’m writing – not overthink, that could go horribly wrong, and then I just start to write. I also make sure I’m comfortable and have a cup of tea with me, but that’s just my personal preference!

    http://www.alicekouzmenkowriting.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

