Resolutions of a Weird Writer

29 Dec

It still feels like 2010 so why are we already tumbling into 2014? Think about it, next year it will be 2015! Anyway, let’s try not to realise too much that time is flying by faster than a pet dragon. Today’s blog post was a request regarding my new resolutions to do with writing. This is a bit difficult for me, but it made my pet dragons purr, so I’ll give it a go.

Resolutions of a Weird Writer:

  1. Despite my busy life that tugs at me from all corners of the room, I shall write at least once a week and it shall be glorious. (Not the writing itself, but at least the act of writing.)
  2. I shall get a literary agent this year. Even if I have to clone myself, go back in time, leave my Non-Mini Me to become a literary agent and return to my time, just in time (ha!) to get taken on as a client by her. Me. Her. Well, you know what I mean.
  3. I shall finish all my To-Write stories on my To-Write list. Really, I will. Truly. Stop narrowing your eyes at me. I will!
  4. I will start writing in my notebooks, with all my favourite pens instead of savouring them (because they are too pretty) and petting them when nobody is looking. What?
  5. I will get my teaching license. And yes, that does have to do with writing, because once I’ve got my second MA, then I’ll be able to write until I pass out. Happily, of course.
  6. I will get a literary agent. Or did I already mention that?
  7. I will finish polishing my cosy mystery.
  8. I will read more this year. Like a glorious beast I shall devour those books one by one.
  9. I will join a critique group. It would be so much fun (once I have the time) to have a gang of loyal and honest writer friends who enjoy my work and love to pour criticism over my stories. And I will have to enjoy their stories, as well. I don’t like the I’ll-read-your-story-if-you-read-mine thing because then it’s a chore. And I already have enough of those.
  10. I WILL get a literary agent. (I have to mention it three times, it’s lucky.)

Now, I’ve told you mine, but what are yours?

 

Vintage_background_with_old_note_book

7 Responses to “Resolutions of a Weird Writer”

  1. Joyce Lavene December 29, 2013 at 8:55 pm #

    Great resolutions! My resolution is to be happier while I’m writing, and not to worry so much. That’s what happens when you HAVE a literary agent and are writing full time, but are afraid you can’t keep going and will end up working aat McDonald’s. Happy 2014!

  2. Zee December 29, 2013 at 10:36 pm #

    To build good habits – read, write, exercise and meditate daily 🙂

  3. Natacha Guyot December 30, 2013 at 4:31 am #

    I feel like printing your #4 and hanging it on the wall. I mean those notebooks and pens are so lovely, how could one use them??

    In 2014, I’m going to finish my contracted book, keep searching and applying for new possible publications, and overall continue on the ascending curve of writing/publishing I began in 2012. In a perfect la-la-land, I’d managed to get a contract for another book project I have, but I don’t want to focus on it until the current one is done and green lighted fully by the editor for its final version.

    Happy 2014!

  4. Alice December 30, 2013 at 10:03 pm #

    Great resolutions! My writing resolution is just to write. Just to not worry about anything and write, often, and everything I want. Good luck with the New Year!

    http://www.alicekouzmenkowriting.blogspot.com

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Year of the Writer! | Get Bliss or Die Trying - January 1, 2014

    […] Resolutions of a Weird Writer (writershenanigans.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Resolutions Writers Should Have | Pen-to-Paper - January 1, 2014

    […] Resolutions of a Weird Writer (writershenanigans.wordpress.com) […]

  3. How We All Write | Adult & Teen Fiction - January 10, 2014

    […] Resolutions of a Weird Writer […]

Leave a Reply

