Spring Cleaning…

17 Sep

Yes, yes, I know it’s September. (Actually, I’m always terrible at remembering what month it is, except for October because it’s my favourite month and December because that’s when my birthday is.) Anyway, I’m talking about that spring cleaning…for the mind! And no, this won’t be about meditation or tai chi (bless you!).

This is about cleaning up. No, seriously. Stop looking at me like that. If you’ve ever seen my room you’ll probably laugh and question whether I even know what the verb means, but that’s because I’m bad at tidying up when it’s loud in my head. I am, however, good at it when my mind is beginning to overflow with thoughts. It’s like nothing more can go in and there’s a certain peace that accompanies that. That’s when cleaning up and organising becomes therapeutic. Especially when you start with the place you are at most of the time. For me that is my desk.

Now, I won’t bother you with before and after pics of my desk, mainly because I’m too ashamed of the before picture. I can tell you that the result is pretty darn fine, if I do say so myself. (Who else would be saying it?) And I do feel instantly better and productive and all that grown up stuff. Feeling proud and happy with the result also makes me excited to get to the next part of my room. I know, I’m weird. I’m one of those people who enjoys cleaning up their room in the weekend. But then again, I’m also one of those people who is thrilled to spend an entire Saturday organising notebooks and paper clips.

Welcome to the exciting life of the writer and HAPPY SPRING CLEANING!

Leave a Reply

