Inspire Me, World

21 Jul

I still have a few novels-to-be on the shelf in my writing cave but I can’t help but wonder…What happens after that? Will I find new inspiration?

Inspiration can come in different ways. It has come to me through the words of someone else, an image, or my own thoughts. Sometimes it comes in the form of a new character that knocks on my door to introduce herself, and is usually followed by her story. And it happens while working on another story. That’s why I’ve never been without a WIP. Still, couldn’t it happen?

One of my characters is shaking her head. Her gun is in her hand, tapping against her thigh. She tells me to stop being so neurotic, which is interesting coming from her. Trust me. But anyway,  she does have a point when she says that I read too much to be without inspiration. After all, look at how many stories there are in this world alone. How many wouldn’t there be in other worlds? And when you read or watch series aren’t you in another world? According to her I’m also too much of a writer to not write. I mean, even when we don’t write, we still write. We breathe in what-ifs and exhale plot twists. When normal people hear a bizarre crime story they are shocked, when we hear it we are inspired. We are too eager to experience different truths to ever stop seeing them.

Sure, life can get in the way from time to time but that’s just part of the job. Even our own experiences can inspire. Though my life is too normal for the strange stories I write.

So lots of things inspire me. But what inspires you?

image

5 Responses to “Inspire Me, World”

  1. QuanishaA July 22, 2015 at 4:15 am #

    I’ve been watching GRIMM and I love the dose of fantasy, movies inspires me as well. Inception was a mind bender that I absolutely love.

  2. ruthlakes July 22, 2015 at 7:20 pm #

    For me it’s an article – something that has existed through more than one lifetime. Or a quotation – or part of one – which diverts my thoughts away from the unfolding real narrative and into a new narrative in my head. There are quite a few battling to get to the front of the queue right now 😏

    • pfeatherstonehaugh July 22, 2015 at 9:06 pm #

      Wow that is very interesting! Sounds exciting. 😄 I wonder who will win.

  3. Daevone August 5, 2015 at 4:43 pm #

    Ah, great post. I usually take inspiration from things I see on my daily walks. I find that my imagination really explodes when I walk without listening to music. I don’t know why, but I visualize sea monsters popping out of sewers and vampires living next door. A free mind is a creative mind. 🙂

Leave a Reply

