Your Voice

22 Jul

I remember when I first started writing – I mean really writing, not dabbling – I was quite lost. Not because of the writing itself, but because of the writing’s link with myself. As I was getting serious I was thinking about the kind of writer I wanted to be. The kind of writer I wanted to be known for. And that is one of the trickiest things to uncover. Just like with real life, isn’t finding out who you really are the toughest time? I don’t think I’ll ever forget.

And you know what? I think I still haven’t figured it quite out. Why? Because my writing develops, and therefore so do I as a writer. I think people are always discovering who they are. Maybe that is what being alive means. To have all these questions and to enjoy asking them. To enjoy the journey towards that elusive answer. Whether we get to learn it or not. As long as we are asking ourselves who we want to be I think we’re on the right track. It means we are always evaluating ourselves and trying to be the best version of ourselves and that is never a bad thing, especially with writing. Writing is important because it allows us to touch the hearts of people that we will never even meet. We get to awaken something in them, even if we won’t ever know what. Our voices matter, because even as we still search for it, we have one and perhaps one day we will blessed enough to hear what our voice has meant for someone.

Branding_Voice

2 Responses to “Your Voice”

  1. ruthlakes July 22, 2015 at 7:31 pm #

    This is the stage I’m at right now – identifying my own writing style. I’ve found that writing my thoughts down on my blog is really helping me to ‘let go’ of my own reservations, and allowing my muse to speak to me. It’s fun and incredibly motivating.

    • pfeatherstonehaugh July 22, 2015 at 9:07 pm #

      Sounds like you are doing it right. Letting go of reservations is a very important part of finding your voice. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

