Write What You Want To Read, Read What You Want To Write

31 Jul

A long title for a simple idea. Do you ever get the writing blues? I do. I have this idea in my head of an awesome story involving vague concepts but when I press my fingers to the keys nothing comes out. Just an image of my muse blowing raspberries. See, the downside of writing is that you’re not reading. A writer who’s not reading is like a car driving without fuel. We need them words, son! How else is the muse supposed to eat?

That really is the secret: feeding the muse. What genre do you (want to) write in? Well, find as many books as you can in that genre and DEVOUR them. It doesn’t matter if people start dubbing you as The One Who Reads All The Time, because that’s only an amazing compliment and nobody will give you such a long nickname. You can be social after you’ve finished that novel.

The best part is finding a book that you get to adopt as one of your favourite stories. We can never have enough favourite novels. Who knows? You might write the favourite novel of a lot of people some day…

image

The latest food for my muse!

 

4 Responses to “Write What You Want To Read, Read What You Want To Write”

  1. C.S. Wilde July 31, 2015 at 1:44 pm #

    Oh yes, definitely ^_^

  2. lauriblock July 31, 2015 at 1:55 pm #

    So very true. I often feel that as soon as I sit down to write my muse just packs up and leaves. She can be pretty sassy like that 😕

  3. ruthlakes July 31, 2015 at 7:46 pm #

    I think I read far too much – it’s addictive, I need to read to be able to function. My muse has, fortunately, just started talking, very loudly, and now I have to write – just to calm the voice that’s shouting in my head 📇

  4. julielees August 1, 2015 at 9:25 am #

    This same thing happened to me in bed, this morning. The story unfolded, word for word, in my head, then packed up and went on its holidays the minute I tried to write it down. If only I could send telepathic thoughts to the page.

Leave a Reply

