Playing with Words 1.1 Apples

7 Sep

The doorbell rang intrusively. It was early and I had barely finished breakfast. I hurried to the door and opened it.

“Hello,” a woman I’d never seen before said. She had on baggy clothes.

“Hello,” I said.

“I’m walking around door to door to hand out free apples,” she said in a creaky voice.

It was then that I noticed the basket filled with green apples. They were still wet as if she’d just washed them.

“Oh, free, you say?”

“Yes, free.” She smiled to reveal pearly white teeth.

“Alright, I’ll have three, please.”

“How wonderful,” she said and held out the basket.

“Thank you so much.” I picked three apples and thanked her again.

“No worries, no worries,” the woman said and walked away.

I closed the door and took a bite of one of the apples as I made it back to the kitchen. I placed the other two on the counter. I made a reach for my mug of tea but my vision blurred and I lost my balance. I fell to the ground as my heartbeat slowed. The apple rolled on the ground.


The sound of the doorbell cut through the morning quiet, chasing off any fuzziness in my head that had been the result of a good night’s sleep. I pushed my empty plate away and rushed to the door to open it.

“Hello,” a woman said. Her clothes dangled around her figure, several sizes too large for her frame.

“Hi, there,” I said.

“I’m going around door to door to hand out free apples,” she said in a creaky voice, as if each word stepped on an old floorboard before leaving her mouth.

I eyed the basket filled with green apples. Drops of water decorated the skins as if they’d just been washed.

“Oh. Free, you say?”

“Yes, free.” She smiled to reveal pearly white teeth.

“Alright. I’ll have three, please.”

“How wonderful,” she said and held out the basket.

“Thank you so much.” I picked three large apples that were cool to the touch and thanked her again.

“No worries, no worries,” the woman said. She turned her back to me and sauntered towards the pavement. Her movements were fluid and her steps contained a certain elegance that seemed to be hiding under her appearance.

I closed the door and took a bite of one of the apples as I made it back to the kitchen. I placed the other two apples on the counter and reached for my mug of tea. My vision blurred and I stopped chewing. I rested my hand on the counter to keep my balance, but within a few seconds I keeled over. It was as if something had reached from the ground and pulled each of my cells down to the cold kitchen tiles. My heartbeat slowed as the apple rolled on the ground.

Leave a Reply

