Playing with Words 1.2 Cowboy

7 Sep

The horse had ran off to the small river and was out of my sight. Pain shot through my back and right elbow as I had trouble getting up. I winced and tried to move so that I could get away from the wolf that had shot out from the bushes and was now staring at me several feet away. He didn’t seem to want to attack me, he seemed more curious than anything.

Still, it scared me and I was struggling to find a position which allowed me to get up with the least amount of pain. There was a whistle and the wolf looked up. He glanced at me before running off and sighed with relief.

A moment later a man with a cowboy hat came from the other side of the road, from behind the trees. The wolf followed him. The man stared at me before making his way over and looked at the tracks that my horse had made on the dirt path.

“Are you okay, miss?” He asked in a gruff voice. His eyes were light blue and looked kind.


The horse had dashed off towards the river and by now he was out of sight. I groaned as I pushed myself from the ground. The pain shot up through my back and elbow where it continued to echo through my body. Despite the pain, I continued to push myself further away from the wolf that had shot out of the bushes moments earlier and was now a few feet away, staring at me. His ears were up as he sniffed the air and he remained where he was.

Even if his sharp teeth weren’t visible, they were there, and I struggled to find a position that caused me the least amount of pain. Someone whistled not far from us and the wolf’s head shot up. He glanced at me before shooting off into the bushes. The release of tension from my body was accompanied by a sigh.

A man with a cowboy hat came from behind the trees a moment later, the wolf at his heels. He stared at me before making his way over and glanced at the tracks that my horse had made on the dirt path.

“Are you okay, miss?” He asked in a voice like sandpaper. He observed me with light blue eyes that smiled even if his mouth didn’t.

Leave a Reply

