Meet A Writer: Karah Russell

19 Sep

It is time to introduce another writer to you all. I’ve set up the virtual tea cups and the plate of cookies, so please enjoy getting to know this fierce scribbler. Also, feel free to follow her on Twitter: @EllieVersus.

#1. When did you start writing and why?

I started writing, or attempted writing, my first “novel” in middle school. I loved stories, especially the Star Wars EU and the Lord of the Rings, so most of my early attempts were in those genres or fanfiction versions of them. I started writing as a natural progression from loving stories to creating them. It was a seamless transition.

#2. What do you write? And why that genre?Karah Headshot

I mostly write in the YA and NA vein. I am very interested in coming of age stories and stories about new relationships. I like to explore the transitional moments between innocence and naivete into knowledge and experience.

#3. What is your writing process?

I’m a big plotter. I like to come up with my outline then flesh out the scene longhand then I type up the first draft. Once the draft is done I send it to my critique group and then use their ideas and comments to make it stronger. So far I’ve only needed one true draft. I get everything how I want it early on, down to the scenes, so there’s no need to rewrite the entire thing.

#4. What is your favourite character that you’ve written? And why?

Oh, good question! Maybe Jonah and Ravi, as a pair. I find it hard to separate the two. They’re such a great bromance and they lend to excellent moments of comedic relief.

#5. What are you most proud of regarding your writing?

Finishing a whole book! I’ve never actually completed a story before. Usually I get bored or decide it’s really not worth telling so it goes into my closet full of abandoned concepts. This month marks my ability to actually see a story to completion and get it out into the world.

#6. What is your biggest struggle when it comes to writing?

I am horrible at descriptions and, often, at making scenes flow. I really want to write all my prose like a screenplay: bare bones, dialogue and action, minimal descriptions.workspace

#7. What are you working on right now?

I’m starting the outlining process for my first New Adult Romance currently titled Over Again. I’m determined to finish the first draft during NaNoWriMo this year. I’d like to have it ready for Swoon Reads by January. Fingers crossed.

#8. What has been most helpful to you with regards to writing? It can be anything. Even cookies.

Setting hard deadlines. I really need pressure and negative consequences to motivate myself. That might sound bad, but it’s true. It helps to post my WIP regularly on my site or Wattpad. When I see readers commenting they want updates it gives me the push I need to get it done. I don’t like letting people down.

#9. What inspires you?

Other people’s amazing art: a well written television script, an aw
e-inspiring song, a fast paced book. Enjoying the passions of other people’s hearts makes me want to get mine out there even more.

#10. Final question: what snacks do you like during your writing?

I used to always keep a bag of those bite sized cherry Twizzlers next to me at all times. Now I mostly make sure I have a cup of hot tea or coffee.

Leave a Reply

