Let It Sink In

11 Oct

My muse has been playing truant since a few weeks ago. I wrote the first draft of my first magical realism novel and it was one hell of a ride. It’s probably the story I’m most proud of and I can’t explain why. Perhaps because I’ve done my best to add some beautiful prose, or because it has an Addams Family feel to it. But man, it was so frustrating, because after rereading it and getting back feedback from my ninja readers I realised I had to rewrite the ending. It was as slow and painful as having my nails pulled out. Exaggerating? Me? Nah.

My heels spontaneously began to drag themselves when my creative mind hit a brick wall covered in thorns and barbed wire. Somehow I couldn’t even work on other projects, because deep down I wanted to finish this story first. I had to. But how could I when my characters were playing hide and seek without having told me?

So as you can guess, I haven’t written in a while and as a writer, that is torture. I felt like a flower who hadn’t been watered. But today, finally, I had my eureka moment! Nothing is as enticing as a blank page and a pen. It’s like putting a chocolate cake in front of someone who’s extremely hungry. I had to write but didn’t really know what. My thoughts drifted to my story and I thought about the theme and what my character really wanted in those final pages. And bam, I had an idea. And bam, I started writing. And BAM, I had my flow back! Oh, finally. I’m no longer starving for words. What a relief.

For a while I thought I would have to lick the words from the books I have, but none taste as good as my own. Anyway, I’ll stop being weird. My point is that there’s no rush. At least, not when you don’t have an agent (yet). Sometimes it’s good to distract yourself with other things before having another brainstorm session. Sometimes it’s good to let your story sink in. Sometimes it’s necessary.

6 Responses to “Let It Sink In”

  1. Princess Kick-ass October 11, 2015 at 8:24 pm #

    Very true!

    • Princess Kick-ass October 11, 2015 at 8:25 pm #

      Although I tend towards domestic violence when it comes to my muse. Which means I’m always writing ^_^

  2. sophiawhitte October 12, 2015 at 3:25 pm #

    Poor muse indeed. Good for both of you though. Muses are so hard to find!

  3. Shannon Noel Brady October 30, 2015 at 10:37 pm #

    I know exactly how those blocks feel. Thank goodness for those BAM’s! I agree that sometimes it’s wise to let a story marinate while your mind ponders for awhile. Happy to hear it worked out 🙂

Leave a Reply

