Genres

5 Jan

As I’m working on my query letter I can’t help but wonder what genre I am even writing. Does anybody else have that problem? Well, it turns out they do, but it doesn’t make it easier.

I follow the story. The words follow me. The genre, however, is much like my pet dragons when they don’t want a bath. It’s so easy to write something that crosses genres, because books are much like people, they’re many things. Books don’t think in genres, we do.

There really is no solution, except to find an agent that represents both genres that it crosses or think tennis balls, I don’t care. Just pick one and go for it. Sometimes I see books that are labelled as a certain genre that makes me raise my eyebrows AND my socks. And yet they are labelled that way, so it’s more subjective than one might think. Plus, sometimes you just have to take a chance and hope an agent doesn’t laugh at you before he rejects your novel.

Mind you, I only have this problem when I write magical realism. It’s a fine line between fantasy and MR, which makes it more tempting to stick to cosy mysteries. 😉 Then again, murder can creep its way into magical realism too…

Oh, boy.

4 Responses to “Genres”

  1. Selfmanic January 6, 2017 at 1:35 pm #

    Exactly, mine never seem to fit a genre well. It’s Young Adult, no, It’s Fantasy, no, it’s Urban Fantasy, no, not really.

    • pfeatherstonehaugh January 18, 2017 at 4:09 pm #

      Yep, it starts to get very confusing when shoving your story into a box.

  2. Shannon Noel Brady January 18, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

    Genre-blending is my favorite thing as an author, and it’s the least favorite thing of most agents and publishers, haha. I understand why that it is – it’s all about marketing, knowing where to shelve the book so the maximum number of readers (who will buy it) will see it. But on a personal level, it bugs me that books have to be so limited and boxed-in. I agree with you – books are many things, because people are many things! I’m going to keep writing multi-dimensional stories, and I hope others do too.

Leave a Reply

